Kopenhaver Fellows 2015

On Wednesday, August 5, 2015, the Kopenhaver Center and the AEJMC Commission on the Status of Women hosted its third annual Women Faculty Moving Forward Workshop at the AEJMC Conference held in San Francisco, CA.

This year’s session, Empowering Junior Faculty: Pathways to Success in the Academy, featured a keynote by Dean Marie Hardin of Pennsylvania State University, and was followed by a panel of senior scholars, administrators, and women who have achieved significant leadership roles in their careers.

The panelists included: Dorothy Bland (University of North Texas), Julianne Newton (University of Oregon), Elizabeth Toth (2014-2015 AEJMC President, University of Maryland), Judy VanSlyke Turk (Florida International University), and Rochelle L. Ford (Syracuse University).

The workshop’s panel discussed issues to help women faculty move forward in their careers through mentoring and networking, balancing work and life and research, preparing for tenure and promotion, looking at leadership roles, and surviving early career years. The panel was followed by roundtables discussing issues of importance to participants.

Now, without further ado, please welcome this year’s Fellows:

Kopenhaver Fellows 2015
AEJMC 2015 Conference | San Francisco, CA

Leticia Bode, Georgetown University
Rowena L. Briones, Virginia Commonwealth University
Gina Chen, The University of Texas at Austin
Erica Ciszek, University of Houston
Stine Eckert, Wayne State University
Stephanie Edgerly, Northwestern University
Juliana Fernandes, University of Miami
Desiree Hanford, Northwestern University
Karla Kennedy, University of Oregon
Cheryl Ann Lambert, Boston University

Victoria LaPoe, Western Kentucky University
Laura Marshall, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Kathleen McElroy, Oklahoma State University
Jensen Moore-Copple, Louisiana State University
Laura Moorhead, Stanford University
Camille Reyes, Rutgers University
Hyunjin Seo, The University of Kansas
Nikki Usher, The George Washington University
Jessica Willoughby, Washington State University
Molly K. Yanity, Quinnipiac University